Robbinsville voters choose change

"I'm just glad that people spoke their voice," Hooper said.

Robbinsville has three new aldermen – Shaun Adams, Brian “Taco” Johnson, and Debbie Beasley.
Adams led the pack with 78 votes. Johnson was second with 56. Beasley barely earned the third seat. Her 49 votes edged Robert Moody (48) and Koty Burdette (45).
Adams, Johnson and Beasley replace Jacky Ayers, Jan Pangle Brooks and Bobby Smith, who didn’t seek re-election. Ayers had 43 votes. Brooks had 40.
Jerry Lovin, Emma Jane Stinnett, Kim Smith and Hubert Merchant received less than 20 votes each.
Adams benefitted from 41 one-stop votes cast – 10 more than any alderman candidate.
Robbinsville Mayor Steve Hooper was the top vote getter with 91 votes. Challenger Lois Cagle had 53. Fifty-six of Hooper’s votes were via one-stop.
“I’m just glad that people spoke their voice,” Hooper said. “I can work wtih anyone just up and up. I feel like the ones that we got, same way as the ones that’s going out, for the betterment of the people of Robbinsville.”
In the Town of Lake Santeetlah, lone challenger Patrick O’Donovan gained a council seat with Karen Anderson (21), Keith Predmore (21), Jim Hager (20), and Bob Wehr (18). Incumbent Connie Gross (11) was not re-elected.
There was no drama in the Town of Fontana. Mayor Sarah Houston and council members were unopposed.

The Graham Star

Mailing address: P.O. Box 69, Robbinsville, NC 28771

Street address: 720 Tallulah Rd., Robbinsville, NC 28771

Phone number: 828-479-3383

Fax number: 828-479-1044